Top Gun Tennis Academy

Old Henry Location


1800 Elite Blvd.
Louisville, KY 40223

Springhurst Tennis Club

Springhurst Location


4109 Simcoe Lane
Louisville, KY, 40241

Top Gun Academy Foundation

…in memory of Stephen Mather (1970-2005)

The Top Gun Academy Foundation, LLC is a non-profit 501 (c)(3) corporation started in the memory of Stephen Mather. Since 2008, the Top Gun Academy Foundation, through the generous donations of individuals and corporations has sponsored the following:

  • RTL Tennis Championships.... a Twisted Pink for Cancer Research Fundraiser
  • College Scholarships to deserving high school seniors in a variety of sports
  • Tennis mission trip for tournament players
  • Training assistance for players who cannot afford it
  • Charitable works by players
  • Education/Mentoring opportunities for young athletes

Thanks to our Foundation Sponsors


Donations are generously accepted throughout the year. You may donate to the Foundation in one of two ways. All donations to the Foundation are tax deductible.

Individual Donations

Donations can be made in any amount at The Tennis Club at Springhurst or at The Top Gun Academy or DONATE ONLINE.

Business & Corporate Sponsorships

The Louisville Sports Academy hosts MANY prestigious tournaments, events, and leagues throughout the year for junior players. Your corporate sponsorship provides your company with highly visible and well attended events.

  • Banners displayed at facilities and during events (Tennis, Football, Basketball, Field Hockey and much more)
  • Logo on all event T-shirts
  • Logo on web sites
  • Logo on Tournament Banners
  • Recognition as Corporate Sponsor on all tournament literature

One of the greatest tennis players in the history of Kentucky tennis, Stephen was one of the top 20 juniors in the nation in his age group - a group that included Pete Sampras, Andre Agassi, Jim Courier and Michael Chang. Stephen entered Trinity High School in 1986 and proceeded to lead his team to the State Championship, capturing the individual title as well. Stephen also advanced to the state finals all four years of his career, a feat only accomplished two other times in the history of the State Tennis Tournament. He was a four time regional champion as well.

After graduating from Trinity, Stephen accepted a tennis scholarship at the University of Kentucky where he set a record for wins by a freshman and helped lead the Wildcats to the SEC team championship in 1992.

After briefly playing in professional satellite events, Stephen remained a fixture in the Kentucky tennis scene. He was a 5 time Kentucky Adult Closed Champion and won many other local and regional tournaments. Stephen was inducted into the Kentucky Tennis Hall of Fame in 1997. He also taught tennis at The Tennis Club at Springhurst with the same enthusiasm and infectious charm that epitomized his personality.

On December 9, 2005, Stephen passed away, leaving a tennis legacy for the ages. Please click on the link below for a full detailed brochure on the Top Gun Academy Foundation and the way you or your company can support the Foundation.

Every year Top gun Academy Foundation holds a Stephen T. Mather Memorial Doubles Tournament for Boys and Girls 10s-18s Doubles & Mixed Doubles, with all proceeds benefit the Foundation.

Since 2009, the Top Gun Academy Foundation awarded a $1,000 College Scholarship program that is awarded to a high school senior who participates in the tournament. To be considered for the scholarship, please complete the scholarship application.

Past Scholarship Winners

2009 - Patrick Richardson, Trinity High School (Transylvania University)

2010 - Julian Rippy, Manual High School (Pomona (CA) College)

2011 - Chloe Chanley, Ballard High School (Florida Institute of Technology)

2012 - Taylor Harris, Lexington Lafeyette High School (High Point University)

2013 - Gus Benson, Richmond Model (University of Kentucky)

2014 - Sarah Stearman, Manual High School (University of Alabama, Huntsville)

2015 - Tommy McConville, Trinity High School (Xavier University)

2016 - Spencer Blandford, St. Xavier High School (University of Southern Indiana)

2017 - Eva Borders, St. Francis High School (Furman University)

2018 - Brandon Chou, Trinity High School (Notre Dame University)

2019 - Michael Chou, Trinity High School (Notre Dame University)

2020 - None (Covid)

2021 - Isabel Winebrenner, Assumption High School